Wednesday, 7 March 2012

Tuesday, 6 March 2012

Goals

I have set up some goals for myself as a kind of motivation to keep on losing weight.

I haven't bought any clothes recently because I thought it wasn't worth the money, and frankly because I didn't want to give in to the fact I needed new clothes because my old clothes didn't fit me anymore. Even though I FRICKING LOVE clothes. It is good for my wallet, saving me up to E75,- a month but about a month or two ago I said to myself that I wasn't allowed to by myself anything until I reached the 65 kg again. Meaning that I can save up E75,- each month. That also means I still have 4 kg to go. 4 kg is a lot, and that's why I want to set myself some goals to go for the 65 and even less.

69: Allow myself some pancakes
68: Go out with friends and have a hot chocolate with whipped cream and alcohol.
67: Have a caramel filled waffle straight of the market, the ones I like!
66:
65: BUY ALL THE CLOTHES!!!!! (have a Me, Myself and I day; go shopping by myself, do my own nails, do my hair nicely, etc).
64:
63:
62: Go out for diner (to be more specific; this particular Greek restaurant).

This is the way to keep the fun of it still alive. It doesn't matter that when I have a hot chocolate it will take me longer to reach my next goal. Because it is important to LIVE, by doing fun things and things I like and enjoy. Also this will make it easier for me to reach my next goal mentally: because my goals are fun!

I couldn't think of that many goals yet. But I'll update and re-post them once I thought of something new!

Monday, 5 March 2012

Smile

This picture makes me smile everytime I see it.
It actually makes me feel happy, because HE makes me happy!

Tip of the day: fluids please!

Just found something interesting on the internet, which I more or less already knew about but I never really thought of properly.

They say you should drink more than often, because your body needs the fluids. But it also helps when you want to eat less without being hungry. This is because you body is confused about whether it is being thirsty or being hungry (!!!!). So in other words: you think you are hungry but in fact your body asks for water.

So the tip is: Grab a glass of water first! When you are still hungry after half an hour you can consider grabbing a healthy snack.

Before I started losing weight I hardly ever drank anything. When I did I had a glass of water so it wasn't that difficult for me to leave the coke or pepsi or sprite aside. I just hardly drank. Instead I went for a twix or marsbar. I've been watching my weight for almost two weeks now and I drink a lot of tea. With a lot I mean 5-6-7 cups of tea a day and water during lunch and diner. I feel so much fuller now I do that. It's amazing! Yet so obvious and stupid I'd never thought of it before.

Week 2: Fighting cravings

Start: 28nd of Februari: Tuesday morning: 70.4 kg.

Okay, my target for this week was <1500 calories. Yet I have sinned on wednesday and saterday. It was my mothers birthday on wednesday; 29th of February. A special day it is since it only can be celebrated once every four years. I had a cake and a nice birthday diner at my Uncle and Aunts house to celebrate: reason enough for me to eat a bit more isn't it? Last saterday one of my friends was giving a birthday party as well. I left the cake on the side but I did have a proper meal in the evening. I don't want to miss out on the fun things just because I am on a diet. We went out that night, to go clubbing. I didn't drink any alcohol just water, to compensate the 'birthday-diet' idea.

I have to say that it was really difficult for me mentally not to grab any snacks. I had some friends coming over on friday night and I had to buy them some sweets. Having to stand in front of all those sweets and crisps was hell for me. But I was determined not to eat them myself, WHICH, I didn't. I also noticed that I'm on my weakest when I have got cravings. Most of the time just before diner, when I'm either preparing my diner or half an hour in advance. I especially bought a bag of carrots to eat. It does help! They are low in calories, eating them is satisfying; I can actually crunch them. Plus I eat less during diner. This is good because I tend to eat a lot during diner because I am hungry. And it means that I have food left for another day. Or in other words: So much win

Tuesday: 1470 Cal - 300 cal (walking)
Wednesday: 1980 Cal -200 cal (walking)
Thursday: 1345 Cal -200 cal (walking)
Friday: 1275 Cal -200 cal (walking)
Saterday: 1825 Cal -300 cal (gym)
Sunday: 1600 cal -300 cal (household)
Monday: 1500 cal -500 cal (gym)

I was so unbelievably scared to get on the scale this morning. What if I hardly lost anything? I would be so disapointed if I would get on the scale to see that all the hard work didn't pay off. But it DID! I lost 1.3 kg, meaning that I weigh 69.1 kg at the moment.

Besides that I am happy about another thing, I went to the gym last night and went for a 20 minute run. I haven't been able to do so for such a long time. I used to play hockey and I was able to play a hockey game (an hour) on full speed. When I first started running again I couldn't even do 5 minutes of running. I'm so proud of myself!

So when it comes to the point that I hardly loose any weight I'll just remind myself of the fact I am getting fitter and healthier, which is my main reason I want to loose weight. It's not about the kg's, it's about my health!

My new target for this week is 1200 cal a day. It'll be more than difficult, seeing as I've got a special thing going on tonight and we'll be eating pancakes. Besides that I'm seeing my boyfriend during the weekend. I'm going to his house because I haven't been there for weeks now and his mum always prepares the most delicious food ever (plus one meal prepared by her contains about a 1000 calories I guess). I feel bad just to thank her for it and not eating it. She's a wonderful lady, very kind and understanding, but when it comes to loosing weight she's not the kind of person that understands and respects someone for trying. She'll probably think I'm crazy and will stuff the food up my mouth. *Sigh*. We'll see how it goes.

Tuesday, 28 February 2012

Aristoteles

I just found something interesting on the internet. It is in Dutch but I'll try and translate it. It’s an interesting idea/thought/truth about emotional eaters: people who eat because of controlling emotions.

Throughout the years we have learned to associate feelings with food. Aristoteles described this phenomenon before.

When two cases occur several times at the same moment we will be reminded of one thing due to the other even though it is not in the picture. Example: when you are celebrating something you’ll eat cake, during our birthdays we’ll be allowed sweets and crisps and when we’ve done something good we’ll be rewarded with candy. Our brain makes a connection between the feeling food gives us and that happy event that is going on at the same time. We have connected our eating habits to this sign that is given to our body, which has actually got nothing to do with food. So when we eat this association will come back to live; we feel good, just like we did when we had that cake on our birthday. But once you’ve finished the food, that awful emotion will get back to you. The real problem hasn’t been fixed.

Sounds just like me!

Monday, 27 February 2012

Week 1: Fighting Obesity

Start: 22nd of Februari: Tuesday morning: 71.5 kg.

I have been eating less and exercising more. Even after a week my boyfriend was able to say that he started to notice some changes. Yay!

Tuesday: 1790 Cal Walking: -300 Cal
Wednesday: 2045 Cal Walking: -350 Cal, Gym:450 Cal
Thursday: 1720 Cal Walking: -200 Cal
Friday: 1661 Cal Walking: -200 Cal
Saterday: 1950 Cal Working! (physically intens)
Sunday: 1375 Cal Gym: -350 Cal
Monday: 1835 Cal Walking: -300 Cal, Gym -450 Cal


So my first weighing moment was this morning. I was really scared to get on the weighing scale because I've been working out a lot recently (weights) and I was scared that I would either have gained some weight due to the amount of muscles I'm producing at the moment. But...There was nothing to be scared off, I weigh 70.4 kg, so I lost 1.1 kg.

Good start for the first week. I decided I would take this upcoming week to a whole new level. The intake of calories will be 1500 or less instead of the 1800 I had in mind for last week. A difficult task if you ask me! But do-able. If I eat more I'll just have to eat less the day after to compensate it, which I did last week as well.